united_statesIHBB operates its USA division under the name “National History Bee and Bowl” or NHBB, for short. NHBB operates separate divisions for elementary, middle, and high school students, and a single national championship tournament for university students. NHBB also oversees a separate United States History Bee at the high school level, which focuses entirely on the history of the USA.

To access the US high school division, visit and
To visit the US elementary and middle school division, visit

Current US National Champions:

National History Bowl

College (Graduate School Classification) – University of Virginia
College (Undergraduate Classification) – Harvard University
High School Varsity – Liberal Arts and Sciences Academy, Austin, Texas
High School Junior Varsity – Westview High School, Portland, Oregon
High School Varsity (Small School Classification) – Beachwood High School, Beachwood, Ohio
High School Junior Varsity (Small School Classifcation) – Advanced Math and Science Academy, Marlborough, Massachusetts
Middle School – Stoller Middle School, Portland, Oregon

National History Bee

High School Varsity – Jonathan Leidenheimer, George Marshall High School, Falls Church, Virginia
High School Junior Varsity – Daniel Yan, Farragut High School, Farragut, Tennessee
Middle School – Jonathan Tran, Stoller Middle School, Portland, Oregon
Elementary School –Foster Michaelis, Johns Creek, Georgia

United States History Bee
High SchoolBruce Lou, Saratoga High School, Saratoga, California